Monkey Wars

By KURTI, Richard

 Not Rated. Be the first to rate this product!

ISBN
9780385744416
Publisher
Delacorte


REVIEWS

School Library Journal

Reviewed on December 1, 2014  |  Grades 9 and Up

Gr 7 Up—In this debut novel following in the tradition of George Orwell's Animal Farm and William Golding's Lord of the Flies, war and politics shape the lives of several monkey troops. Rhesus monkeys in Kolkata have reportedly turned violent against humans, who then use langur monkeys to keep the rhesus population under control. The langurs drive out a troop of peaceful rhesus monkeys who had been living in a cemetery, establishing it as their power base. Mico, a brilliant but phys...Log In or Sign Up to Read More

Horn Book Guide

Reviewed on January 1, 2015

Alternating between the aggressive warlike tribe of langur monkeys and the decimated peaceful clan of rhesus monkeys the l...Log In or Sign Up to Read More

Junior Library Guild

Reviewed on March 1, 2015

Set in an immersive, primate-centered world and told from the perspective of several monkeys, this allegorical tale has powerful parallels to human current and historical events, including World War II. The inner workings of the society and culture are developed with convincing detail. During a langur attack, for instance, ...Log In or Sign Up to Read More

Become a Pro


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Add To My List

cover
by

This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Export


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Save List Search Query


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Follow Lists


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.