Tiny & Hercules

By Schwartz, Amy

Publishers Summary:
Another gem from Amy Schwartz just as "charming and hilariously understated*" as ever. (*New York Times) Five fast and funny chapters of the lives of two rather unusual friends: Tiny, an elephant with a fear of ice skating and a newfound love of knitting, and Hercules, a mouse with a heart of gold and a desire to learn to paint. As different as can be, somehow together they make the perfect team. Young readers setting out on their own with books will cheer for this funny and touching duo.

 Not Rated. Be the first to rate this product!

ISBN
978-1-59643-253-6
Publisher
Porter Roaring Brook


REVIEWS

School Library Journal

Reviewed on May 1, 2009

PreS-K A droll, upbeat tale with cheery watercolor-and-ink illustrations. The story contains five vignettes about a mouse and an elephant, and the first giggle is right there in the title, since Tiny is the elephant and Hercules is the mouse. Each scenario requires some thought and ingenuity. Tiny is invited to an ice-skating party but doesn't know how to skate. Hercules needs to paint so...Log In or Sign Up to Read More

Horn Book Magazine

Reviewed on May 1, 2009

The titular friends are a mouse and elephant, with unexpected names. Luckily, the cover illustration tells who's who: an arrow points from Tiny to the elephant, while another arrow points from Hercules to the mouse sitting on Tiny's trunk. Five brief episodes tell how the pals take turns helping each other out, and Schwartz's clear, colorful drawings on white backgrounds offer plenty of assistance to newly independent readers. In the first story, mouse H...Log In or Sign Up to Read More

Horn Book Guide

Reviewed on October 1, 2009

Five brief episodes tell how two pals, a mouse named Hercules and an elephant named Tiny, take turns helping each other. ...Log In or Sign Up to Read More

Junior Library Guild

Reviewed on May 1, 2009

In the tradition of Arnold Lobel's Frog and Toad, these five stories are deceptively simple: Tiny tries to ice skate, Hercules paints, the friends open a lemonade stand, Hercules's ancient uncle has a birthday, and the two knit sweaters for each other. Each brief story features a problem that is resolved with a clever visual punch line. When Tiny fails to master skating, we turn the page to discover a picture of little Hercules...Log In or Sign Up to Read More

Become a Pro


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Add To My List

cover
by

This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Export


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Save List Search Query


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.

Follow Lists


This feature is only available to Pro subscribers. Please log in, or upgrade your subscription.